AHAS KIRKHS Election: Council of Chairperson seats now open for election

By Mahjuba Mustabshera

KUALA LUMPUR, 27 November 2021: The newly introduced Council of Chairperson seats for this year’s AHAS KIRKHS Election surpasses the number of seats contested in the previous years’ elections, Chairman of Election Commission 2021/2022, Muhammad Rahmuni Shahmi revealed at the Election Town Hall today.

The Election Town Hall of AbdulHamid AbuSulayman Kulliyyah of Islamic Revealed Knowledge and Human Sciences (AHAS KIRKHS), conducted this morning, is a platform organised to engage with all students regarding the upcoming Kulliyyah election as well as to give exposure to students on the flow of the election.

Unlike previous years, the Chairman stated that there are more seats open for contestants in this year’s election. Besides the seven seats that are open for the mainboard of the next tenure, one seat will be open to the Secretariats from each AHAS KIRKHS department as well.

The seats contested for the mainboard consist of three Presidential seats, two Secretary seats, and two Treasurer seats. Rahmuni highlighted, “The chances of the seats are equal for local and international candidates.”

The Council of Chairperson will open one seat for each Secretariat of the following departments: Arabic Language and Literature, Communication, English Language and Literature, History and Civilisation, Fiqh and Usul Fiqh, Quran and Sunnah, Usuluddin and Comparative Religion, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology and Anthropology.

At the Town Hall, the Chairman also revealed the qualification criteria of the candidates which are as follows:

a) Candidate is a registered undergraduate student of AHAS KIRKHS;

b) Student who have obtained CGPA not less than 2.80 for General seats, Council of Chairpersons seats and International seat whereas 3.00 for Presidential seat at the time of nomination;

c) Students who have completed at least one regular semester and have yet to undergo at least one academic year to graduate from the university;

d) Students who have not been required to repeat one or more semesters;

e) Students who have not been found guilty and convicted of any disciplinary offence under the Student Disciplinary Rules except for compoundable offences;

f) Students who hold positions in other societies/clubs or Mahallah may contest in IRKHS Election;

g) Candidate is not a member of Election Commission, Election Working Commission, Election Tribunal Committee and Election Audit Committee; and

h) Any other qualification as may be determined by the Election Commission from time to time.

The Election Townhall of AHAS KIRKHS 2021/2022 was conducted this morning at 10 a.m via Zoom as well as Facebook live.

Hosted by Farzana binti Zulkifli, the Townhall ended with a Question and Answer session with the participants.

The Nomination Period for AHAS KIRKHS Election 2021/2022 will begin on 29 November and end on 1 December 2021.

For more updates regarding the election, follow the official Facebook page of the Students’ Society: https://www.facebook.com/IRKHSSS ***

Leave a Reply