Communication’s appreciation night honours students

By Najmi Mamat

GOMBAK, 20 December 2018 – A communication annual dinner, used to be known as Communication Annual Grand Dinner, and now renamed ‘Communication Appreciation Night,’ was held on Monday night (17 December) to honour students who actively participated in student activities in their respective club and entity during the year.

Themed ‘glamorous night’ and attended by some 100 students including postgraduate students, lecturers and alumni, the annual dinner took place at Wadi Budi in IIUM campus here.

In a welcoming address, the Head of the Department of Communication, Dr. Aini Maznina A. Manaf said the dinner was a good form of appreciations to honour and encourage students to participate actively in students’ associations and activities.

She told the students, “Apart from academic achievement, it is important for university students to be actively involved and participate in co-curriculum activities to expose themselves to various experience and to be equipped with communication skills outside classroom, which would prepare them for future career.”

Highlights of the appreciation night were the presentation of several awards, in Academy Awards style, to the students who have been involved in various activities of clubs and entities within the Department of Communication – Communication Students Association (COSA),, IIUMToday, Institute of Public Relations Malaysia Student Association (IPRMSA) – IIUM Chapter and the new addition, Communication TV (COMMTV).

Listed below are the list of awards for the different entities:


Excellent Leadership Award: Afzal Nurshamiera bt Musa

Commitment to Service Award: Nor Farazuha bt Aripin

Outstanding Team Player Award: Abdul Rahman Nasution

Creative Award:  Muhammad Aliff Asyraf b Mohd Zainal

Most Promising Junior Award:

Dewi Arin Natasa bt Norazman

Siti Nurzahra bt Rusdi-

Muhammad Helmy b Jasri

The 3 awards for PG students:

The High Achiever Award: Adam Iliasu (PhD candidate)

The Camaraderie Award: Habib Said Ali

Best Buddy Award: Hasnah Abd Kadir





COSA LEADERSHIP AWARD: Nurul Hidayah Abdul Mutalib

COSA BEST PROGRAM AWARD: Muhammad Imran Sanusi

IIUM Today

The most promising journalist award: Alya Nadiah

The most dedicated PR award: Marsha Adibah

The most dedicated coordinator award: Farah Adiba Radzuan

The most dedicated journalist award: Fachri Mirza

Syed Arabi Award: Mahadhir Monihuldin


Best Producer: Muhammad Taufiq bin Mat Nasir

 Best Team: Multimedia Team

 Best Dj: Nurul Shamimi Amira Yusof

 The Most Popular DJ : DJ Atiqah

The Most popular programme : Done Dakwah


The Best Producer : Sarah Qistina (in Living Campus)

The Best Content : In Living Campus

The Best Host : Najwa Azmi (In Living Campus)

The Best Crew : Amirah Adrein (In Living Campus)

The Most Watch Programme : Nightingale

The event was organised by COMMTV under the supervision of its advisor, Dr. Harmi Taazim. Enlivening the evening were local entertainers Arif Jamaluddin and Mancha Band. ***

Najmi Mamat

Najmi Mamat, or Najmi Syahiran Mamat is a Journalism student, who is working as Senior Journalist at IIUMToday (university news portal) and a former Managing Editor. Besides having a position as a news anchor at its bulletin production, he is actively participating in theater performances and in love with photography as well as travelling and vlogging. He works as a part-timer of event emcee too.

Travel. Student. Notebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *